Leadership Advisory Groups

The Leadership Advisory Groups within the Catholic Parish of Forster Tuncurry have the primary task of assisting the Parish Priest in the leadership of the Parish community, each in their own way and within their particular area of responsibility.

More information can be obtained by clicking on the link for each particular Leadership Advisory Group.

Parish Pastoral Council

The Parish Pastoral Council is the visionary group in the Parish. Its job is to lead the community in long term planning in consultation with the community and all the other groups and teams within the Parish. It is there to support the Church community in the daily work of proclaiming the Good News of Jesus.

Council members are elected for a term of two years although members can be co-opted at times if the need arises. No member shall serve for more than four consecutive years. The Council meets once a month and at times will meet with other groups such as the Finance Committee, Pastoral Team or the Liturgy Committee if there is a need. The Council works closely with the Parish Priest.

Currently there are five main structures within the Pastoral Plan of the Catholic Parish of Forster-Tuncurry. They are:

  • Worship and Prayer
  • Leadership and Structure
  • Mission and Outreach
  • Formation and Education, and
  • Identity and Community.

The Council itself fits into the area of Leadership and Structure but also has a role in the other areas through its visionary nature.

Members of the Council are available for any concerns or comments that might assist or strengthen parish life.

Current members of the Parish Pastoral Council are:

Pastoral Council Members Fr John Vo Vien Parish Priest
Desiree Bennett
Greg Byrne
Annie Evans Promoter of Safeguarding
Gary Furnell
Monique Johnson
Kyla Loring
Brooke Stephens HNS Principal
Shanty Thomas

The current Parish Pastoral Plan, adopted at the 2013 Parish Pastoral Assembly is available from the Downloads page.

Top of Page

Parish Finance Committee

The Parish Finance Committee is a group appointed by the Parish Priest to assist him in the administration of the temporal goods of the Parish as required by the Code of Canon Law.

Current members of the Parish Finance Committee are:

Finance Committee MembersFr John Vo Vien Parish Priest
Annie Evans Promoter of Safeguarding
Ken Heffernen
David Isbel
Monique Johnson
Brooke Stephens HNS Principal

Top of Page

If you have information you would like to raise with the any of the leadership groups or are interested in becoming involved please contact the Parish Office via the Contact Us page.